Top 3 New Releases I Want to Read in September

Top 3 New Releases Sep2

This post is short and sweet!

27833803

The Hike  by Drew Magary

Like most of the picks you will see on this list, I came across this book on Goodread’s New Releases page, and honestly? It was the cover that really called my name. I’m a big fan of David Wong and this cover art vaguely reminded me of his novel Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits. So, of course, I found it on Amazon as fast as I could and now I’ve got the kindle version now waiting to be read on my phone during lunch- right after I finish The Exorcist of course!

The protagonist of this story is a suburban family man named Ben, who by the sounds of it, ends up in his own hellish version of Wonderland during a hike in rural Pennsylvania. Ben finds himself fighting for his life in a world of man-eating giants, colossal bugs, and demons. How does he get out of it? He’s got to track down the Producer, the creator of this strange world.

This just SCREAMS David Wong meets Alice In Wonderland and I’m a-okay with that. I’ve also downloaded a free version of this author’s kindle single The Rover, which I’ll do a Quick Post on once I’ve finished!

 

26114135

All The Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

Everybody needs a good romance once in a while, and it looks like this one will be my read of choice in the near future. This book centers around Wavy, the daughter of a meth dealer and the caretaker of her eight-year-old brother. But it wasn’t even that line that caught my attention, it was the sap that came next in the synopsis:

“One night everything changes when she witnesses one of her father’s thugs, Kellen, a tattooed ex-con with a heart of gold, wreck his motorcycle. What follows is a powerful and shocking love story between two unlikely people who ask tough questions, reminding us of all the ugly and wonderful things that life has to offer.”

UGH. My girly side is showing. Sign me up, Amazon, I’ll take a copy of this ASAP, please and thank you.

27405403

Good Morning Midnight by Lily Brooks-Dalton

If you’ve ever read one of my book reviews, you might know that I have an unhealthy obsession with finding the perfect “end-of-the-world” novel. A stand-alone would be my preference, but it seems like these days everyone needs at least three books to destroy humankind in 100,000 words or less (that’s 30,000 words more than Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, for reference).

This, being a stand-alone, already had my heart in its hands. It also circles multiple characters? Aw hell yes. Did I also mention that one of those characters is an astronaut in space on a return flight from Jupiter? What is this? The best book ever?

I’ve got high expectations for this one! Fingers crossed it doesn’t let me down.

Those are my Top 3 New Releases I want to read this month, ladies and gents! Hopefully I’ll see you all reading with me! Follow me on Goodreads and Twitter to keep up with my progress on these novels!

Honorable Mentions: 

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown

The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko by Scott Stambach

Thanks for reading!

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

