Reading Decathlon Recap: AKA I Suck at Reading Challenges

 

wp-1472115135973.png

So before I admit my horrible flop of a challenge, let’s review the rules:

RULES: 

Bronze Medal: 5 Short Stories and 5 Novellas

Silver Medal: 5 Novels and 5 Graphic Novels

Gold Medal: 10 Novels

So… I guess I’ll be accepting my honorable mention? I really should have done this when I wasn’t working eight out of ten days… so maybe I’ll try this again when I’m on vacation. But as of right now, I only managed to get through two out of ten books.

Yeah. Yikes. I didn’t even have time to sleep these past ten days, let alone read. There was one day where I was trying to read on my break and I literally had to close my book because I was so tired. I’ll be taking four days off in October so I’ll be trying this challenge again then, but for now, here’s two quick ratings for you!

#Girlboss by Sophia Amoruso 3/5 Stars

This book was a very quick read, and Sophia Amoruso certainly knows her stuff and knows how to teach it in a way everyone can understand- but I found the organization of the book overall was a little all over the place. New history came up ever so often and advice was spread out sporadically throughout the book.If you’re looking for advice on business and advancement from a street-smart point of view, this book is for you!

The Scalpel and the Soul by Allan J Hamilton M.D. 3.5/5 Stars

This book is also very quick, but it was unexpectedly sad. The synopsis almost makes it sound like it’s a fictional work- I guess that’s just because I skimmed over it at the book store, but it turns out it’s based on an actual doctor’s accounts. It’s sort of strange at first, but the author does a great job of making that emotional connection and capturing your attention, even if it is through pulling at your heartstrings because someone seems to die EVERY SINGLE CHAPTER. F*ckin’ onions, man.

Sorry I didn’t have more! I’ll definitely be attempting this challenge again when I have more time!

Thanks for reading!

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

